Photo By Robert Mora / LA Galaxy

Expansion Draft: LA Galaxy Protected List

The LA Galaxy have announced their Protected List for the 2015 Expansion Draft that will see New York City FC and Orlando City SC choose from a wide ranging platter of MLS talent. The Expansion Draft will take place on December 10th and could see as many as 20 players picked from different teams around the league.

The Expansion draft rules state that no team may lose more than 2 players and that each team is allowed to protect 11 players. Many people have written many different articles about the rules of the expansion draft, so let’s just give you the Protected and Unprotected lists so that you can start your worrying.


  1. Leonardo
  2. AJ DeLaGarza
  3. Omar Gonzalez
  4. Baggio Husidic
  5. Stefan Ishizaki
  6. Robbie Keane
  7. Tommy Meyer
  8. Juninho
  9. Jaime Penedo
  10. Robbie Rogers
  11. Marcelo Sarvas


  1. Bradford Jamieson IV
  2. Jack McBean
  3. Raul Mendiola
  4. Oscar Sorto
  5. Jose Villarreal
  6. Gyasi Zardes


  1. Chandler Hoffman


  1. Todd Dunivant
  2. Dan Gargan
  3. Alan Gordon
  4. Brian Perk
  5. James Riley
  6. Kenney Walker
  7. Rafael Garcia
  8. Brian Rowe
  9. Charlie Rugg
  10. Kyle Venter

** Reports currently have Landon Donovan and Rob Friend as being exempt from the Expansion Draft because  they are retiring. James Riley, while also listed in the “Unprotected” section could also be retiring.

You can find the complete list of all MLS Team’s Protected and Un Protected lists HERE.

What do you think? Is protecting Leonardo a surprise? Or did Tommy Meyer steal a spot that should’ve been reserved for Dan Gargan? We’d love to know your thoughts? Hit us up on twitter or in the comments below!